About Stowmarket Scouts

Geographically, Stowmarket Scout District covers approximately the same area as the local authority, Mid Suffolk District Council.

It stretches from the Norfolk border near Eye in the north to Needham Market in the south, and from Elmswell in the west to Debenham in the east.

There are Scout Groups in the towns of Eye, Needham Market and Stowmarket, and in the villages of Bacton, Debenham, Elmswell, Mendlesham and Wetherden & Haughley.

With the exception of the small market towns, the District is set wholly in rural Suffolk in which arable farms and picturesque villages dominate the landscape.

Stowmarket District was granted its Warrant by Lord Baden-Powell in 1910 and duly celebrated its centenary in 2010.